In addition to addressing firearms, California’s gun laws impose rules and restrictions on the following:
- large capacity magazines,
- armor-piercing magazines,
- stun guns,
- laser scopes and laser pointers.
1. Large capacity magazines
As mentioned above (Section 6), large-capacity magazines are now legal in California. “Large-capacity magazines” are those that can generally hold 10 rounds of ammunition or more.
2. Armor-piercing ammunition
Penal Code 30315 PC is the California statute that makes it a crime for a person to possess armor-piercing ammunition.
“Armor-piercing” bullets are those designed to penetrate ballistic armor and protective shields, which are intended to deflect conventional bullets.
Possession of armor-piercing ammunition is a wobbler offense, meaning it can be charged as either a misdemeanor or a felony.
A misdemeanor conviction is punishable by up to one year in county jail.
A felony conviction can lead to custody in county jail for up to three years.
Per California Penal Code 33410 PC, it is a crime for a person to possess a silencer.
A violation of this statute is charged as a felony. The offense is punishable by:
- custody in county jail for up to three years, and/or
- a fine not to exceed $10,000.122
4. Stun guns
It is legal in California for most people to own a stun gun.
However, Penal Code 22610 PC makes it illegal for certain people to buy, use, or possess a stun gun. These people include:
- anyone convicted of a felony, any crime involving assault, or any crime involving the misuse of a stun gun under PC 244.5,
- narcotic addicts, and
- minors, unless he/she is at least 16 years of age and has the written consent of his/her parent or legal guardian.
The first violation of Penal Code 22610 is a public offense punishable by a $50 fine.
Subsequent violations are treated as misdemeanors, punishable by:
- up to one year in county jail, and/or
- a maximum $1,000 fine.
5. Laser scopes and laser pointers
Penal Code 417.25 PC is the California statute that makes it a crime for a person to point a laser scope, or a laser pointer, at another person in a threatening manner.
Note that “threatening manner,” means that the pointing of the scope or laser instills fear of bodily harm in the other person.
A “laser scope” is a portable battery-powered device that can be attached to a gun and can project a laser light onto objects.
A “laser pointer” is a hand-held laser beam device that emits a single point of light, which can be seen by the human eye.
A violation of PC 417.25 is charged as a misdemeanor in California. The crime is punishable by imprisonment in county jail for up to 30 days.
Note that in lieu of jail time, a judge may impose misdemeanor (or summary) probation.
M., D. (2022, March 27). California gun laws 2022 – your top 12 questions answered. Shouse Law Group. Retrieved May 4, 2022, from https://www.shouselaw.com/ca/defense/gun-laws/